On this page
- Venues that name it online
- 4 (WA 1, QLD 1, SA 2)
- Versions approved in Victoria, 2022–2025
- 7: Cash Express Luxury Line and Jackpot Carnival Deluxe
- Crown Perth maximum bet
- $10 a play on the main gaming floor
- Pubs and clubs maximum bet
- $5 in VIC, QLD, SA, TAS, NT; $10 in NSW and the ACT
- Western Australia
- Crown Perth only, carded play
- Checked
- 28 September 2026
The four venues that name it
| Venue | State | What its website says | Version, as far as we can tell |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crown Perth | WA | “Play an exciting Free Game & Jackpot Feature!” [1] | Not stated; the “Jackpot Feature” suggests a jackpot version rather than the classic |
| The Star Gold Coast | QLD | Cash Express Luxury Line on the main gaming floor “with three classic titles… Where’s the Gold, Queen of the Nile, 50 Lions” [4] | Cash Express Luxury Line |
| Angle Vale Tavern | SA | “Featuring 32 gaming machines, including the inclusion of new games such as Dragon Train, Grand Legends, Where’s the Gold…” [5] | Not stated; listed among new games (page updated August 2025) |
| Portside Tavern, Port Pirie | SA | “old favourites like Where’s The Gold, Dolphin Treasure, Shogun and Indian Dreaming” [6] | Not stated; listed among old favourites (page updated May 2024) |
Venue lists change with every floor refresh, and the two tavern pages are more than a year old in places. Call ahead before you drive to Port Pirie for one machine.
Crown Perth in detail
Crown Perth’s approved rules for the authorised game “Video Bingo” list “Where’s the Gold (Aristocrat Variations 01 - 07, 99)” [2]. Two rules from the same document matter at the machine: “No bet for any Play on any Electronic Gaming Machine on the Main Gaming Floor may exceed, in aggregate, $10”, and the note acceptor stops taking money once the credit meter is over $100 [2].
You also need a card to play. “To play Electronic Gaming Machines (EGMs) all guests at Crown Perth Casino are required to have an updated, valid Crown Rewards Membership Card” [3], and the card only works once you’ve set your time and loss limits.
Where else you might find it
We checked the gaming pages of about 30 more casinos, clubs and pubs, including The Star Sydney and Brisbane, Crown Melbourne, SkyCity Adelaide, Mindil Beach, Lasseters, The Reef, The Ville, Wrest Point, Country Club and Casino Canberra. None of them names Where’s the Gold online, which says more about how rarely venues list their games than about what’s on their floors.
Victoria is the best example. None of the Victorian venue pages we read mentions the game, yet the regulator’s records show seven approvals between 2022 and 2025: Cash Express Luxury Line versions (standalone, SAP and linked) and Jackpot Carnival Deluxe versions (standalone and linked) [7]. If you’re in Victoria, a Where’s the Gold you find today is most likely one of those two newer games. The Aristocrat page shows how to tell them apart.
The rules at the machine, state by state
| State | Where pokies are allowed | Max bet per spin | Cash you can load |
|---|---|---|---|
| NSW | Clubs, hotels, The Star Sydney | $10 [8] | $500 on machines installed from 1 July 2023 (ILGA circular, 6 June 2023) |
| Victoria | Pubs, clubs, Crown Melbourne | $5 in pubs and clubs [9] | $100 in pubs and clubs from 1 December 2025 [9] |
| Queensland | Clubs, hotels, four casinos | $5 in clubs and hotels [8] | Note acceptor stops at $100 in clubs and hotels [8] |
| Western Australia | Crown Perth only | $10 on the main floor [2] | No notes once credit passes $100 [2] |
| South Australia | Hotels, clubs, the casino | $5 [8] | Not confirmed in the current law |
| Tasmania | Pubs, clubs, two casinos | $5 [8] | No note acceptors in pubs and clubs [13] |
| ACT | Clubs | $10 [8] | $50 and $100 notes not accepted [14] |
| Northern Territory | Hotels, clubs, two casinos | $5 in clubs and hotels [8] | $5 to $100 notes, up to $1,000 [15] |
Minimum returns by state, from 85% to 90%, are on the RTP guide.
What’s changing on club floors
- Western Australia: every player at Crown Perth’s machines needs a Crown Rewards card with time and loss limits set [3], and every game there must be certified to return at least 90% [10].
- Victoria: since 1 December 2025, pubs and clubs load no more than $100 at a time, and machine types approved from that date can’t run a game faster than one every three seconds [9].
- NSW: a reform package announced on 25 August 2026 includes a statewide self-exclusion register with facial recognition at venue entries, expected in 2028, and a ban on VIP programs [11].
- ACT: the government plans mandatory account-based cashless play with loss limits, a 15-minute break after every hour of play, and new closing hours from 1 July 2027 [12].
Before you go looking
Where’s the Gold is one of dozens of Aristocrat games on a floor, and a machine carrying the name may run the classic, the Cash Express Luxury Line version or the Jackpot Carnival Deluxe version. The paytable screen on the machine tells you which. If you’d like to learn the feature first, it’s free to play in two apps: see free play.
Pokies in venues are for people aged 18 and over. Gambling Help Online is free and confidential on 1800 858 858, 24 hours a day.
Questions people ask
Where can I play Where's the Gold pokies?
Is Where's the Gold still in clubs?
What's the maximum bet on a pokie machine?
Where has the most pokies?
Sources
- Crown Perth: Where's the Gold, checked 28 September 2026
- Crown Perth: Approved Rules of the Authorised Game, Video Bingo (RAG/591, 18 November 2024), checked 28 September 2026
- Crown Perth: carded play, checked 28 September 2026
- The Star Gold Coast: new games, Cash Express Luxury Line, checked 28 September 2026
- Angle Vale Tavern: gaming, checked 28 September 2026
- Portside Tavern, Port Pirie: gaming lounge, checked 28 September 2026
- VGCCC: gaming machine approval data, checked 28 September 2026
- Australian/New Zealand Gaming Machine National Standard, revision 12.1 (May 2025), Appendix B, checked 28 September 2026
- VGCCC: poker machine compliance, checked 28 September 2026
- Government of Western Australia: Electronic gaming machines return to player (RTP) policy, checked 28 September 2026
- NSW Government: stronger protections in major NSW gambling reform, 25 August 2026, checked 28 September 2026
- ACT Government: reducing the risk of gambling harm, checked 28 September 2026
- Tasmanian Liquor and Gaming Commission: Tasmanian Gaming Machine Standards, 6 July 2026, checked 28 September 2026
- Gaming Machine Regulation 2004 (ACT), s 75, checked 28 September 2026
- Northern Territory Appendix to the Gaming Machine National Standard (v10.8), NT.3.12, checked 28 September 2026
Keep digging
- Aristocrat and Where's the GoldFour Aristocrat games carry the Where's the Gold name, from the 25-line classic to a 2024 Jackpot Carnival Deluxe game.
- RTP and volatilityAristocrat listed Where's the Gold at a 94% to 97% return, medium volatility.
- Free playWhere's the Gold is free to play in two Product Madness apps, and the online demo still runs.